Latest Socks

I just finished the latest pair of socks today. They are knit from a luscious variegated washable wool and nylon sock yarn from a German yarn company (Austermann) using a basket weave pattern for the legs. This yarn contains aloe vera and jojoba oil which makes it soft and delightful to work with.

20130106-231409.jpg

I knit the next pair for a Christmas present. They are now warming Beth’s feet so I can finally post a picture. I used Patons Kroy Socks jacquards yarn, and knit them in plain flat stitch. The jacquard yarn does all the work to make the patterns.

20130106-232121.jpg

I like the basket weave pattern so much that I already have a new sock on the loom to make another pair.

21 thoughts on “Latest Socks

  1. The basketweave socks are very nice. They look very cozy. The colors of the second pair are great. I am sure it was a welcome gift.

    Like

    1. There is just something wonderful about purple socks. They make me giggle inside whenever I see my feet. The yarn for the socks I just started has a lot of aqua and gold, but the base color is (big surprise!) purple.

      Like

    1. This is my first time using yarn with jojoba. I’ve only washed them once to block them, and so far the jojoba seems to still be there. I’ll have to see what a few more trips thru the washing machine does to them.

      Like

      1. At this point in my knitting life, all my knitting is like a science experiment! I never quite know what’s going to work or how it will turn out. But I am enjoying the adventures.

        Like

  2. Just gorgeous! I bought the sock loom last week and ordered the yarn which should be here this week. How did you know how to d the basket weave? I love that pattern! You have really encouraged me to begin. Can’t wait!

    Like

    1. The basket weave pattern is pretty easy. I can’t remember where I learned it, probably learned a similar pattern when I was weaving. Knit 4, purl 4 to the end of the round for 4 rows. Then purl 4, knit 4 to the end of the round for 4 rows. Repeat. You have to cast on a multiple of 4, obviously.
      I advise doing an easy flat stitch sock first, just to get a feel for the process. It takes a bit of practice to get the tension right and to learn how to make the stitches. Patience will pay off in the long run, just as with the harp!

      Like

  3. We have very similar interests! I taught myself to knit (using a book and watching a few Youtube videos), but I am still so inexperienced! I don’t know how to … purl? Basically, I’m still a learner. Those socks look great! Were they hard to knit?

    Like

    1. I knit the socks on an Authentic Knitting Board sock loom, so they were much easier than doing them with knitting needles. There is still a learning curve, but nothing like using multiple double pointed needles to knit.

      Like

Comments are closed.