Owl Comes Calling

I was weeding my hosta bed yesterday evening when a shadow scudding across the ground and the slow whoosh of flapping wings made me look up. The neighborhood barred owl glided over the potting bench and the bird feeders, and landed in the lowest branch of one of the willow oaks by the fence.

This spring he’s feeding three owlets and mother owl, according to my neighbor who can watch the goings on in the nest box via the mini-cam installed last year. With all those mouths to feed, father owl is hunting nearly continuously. Perhaps he needed to get away for a bit, and have a little respite from daddy-owl duties. Whatever the reason, he was content to sit on the tree branch and was undisturbed by my quiet approach.

I thought that by the time I got my camera, he would be gone. But when I returned he was still sitting in the tree, occasionally answering his mate’s concerned call. He let me get these shots before extending his wings and sailing up and over the fence, and back to the nest box.

Owl visit April 6, 2012
Owl visit April 6, 2012

Such a gift, being blessed by owl’s presence once again.

20 thoughts on “Owl Comes Calling

  1. Wow – Its cool that you captured something so unique, Ive barely ever seen one in the wild. It’s beautiful!

    Like

  2. I just love owls and feel blessed to hear them let alone to see one. I think the owl is my totem. My good friend had a barred owl stuck in her chimney. A guy came over to get her out. After he did he held her while we took her picture. She was so calm and just looked right at us. I was three feet from her. I will never forget it. Such a stunning creature! You are blessed by your owl experience.

    Like

  3. How wonderful that he was a curious about what you were doing as you were about him. Looks like he offered you his best profile! Great shots, Janet.

    Like

  4. Lucky one! I love Your owl photos, they are gorgeous indeed. When I try to photograph some squirrel or other small animal, then they escape me.

    Happy Easter!

    Like

  5. Beautiful photograph you are so lucky. We have a barn owl that shelters in an outbuilding in the winter. My husband has seen it several times but I have never seen it, let alone take a photograph. Maybe we should put up a box.

    Like

  6. Owls are such magnificent creatures. What a beautiful shot! I can’t believe you caught him on film . . . oh wait, yes I can. You are an amazing photographer! šŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Wow. Fantastic. And lucky you. I had one in my backyard tree once, and I was not lucky enough to get back in time with the camera. Thanks for sharing your awesome moment.

    Like

Comments are closed.