Time Is A Teacher

I’ve been working steadily on all of my harp ensemble tunes for the last three weeks, devoting ten to twenty minutes of practice time on each tune each day. I’ve learned fingerings by working on one or two measures at a time. I’ve drilled transitions between sections. Today, the tempi that seemed entirely too fast and unattainable three weeks ago feel quite reasonable. I’m not yet getting every note, or every transition between sections, every time, but I’m not falling off the train entirely, and I’m getting back on board without falling behind the incessant click of the metronome or losing my place.

It’s easy for me to forget, when I start a new tune that is initially too fast and too hard for me to play, the impact of time and repeated practice.  Yes, the tune is way too fast and much too hard when I first try to play it at the assigned tempo. But the whole process of practice, of learning and drilling little chunks of the tune, slowly, then slightly bigger chunks, and slightly less slowly, works. Doing this for ten to twenty minutes everyday miraculously brings the tune within reach. Today I could even add some of the left hand accompaniments, when three weeks ago I was unsure if I would manage playing just the melody.

Time is not only a great healer. Time is a great teacher, as long as I show up, sit down, and do the work.

5 thoughts on “Time Is A Teacher

  1. Time is so powerful. On your next difficult tune, just go back and read this very post to remind you. That’s what I love about journaling…seeing fears being conquered! Keep Calm and Carry On! 🙂

    Like

    1. I think I’ll tape this post to my music stand to help me remember. In the midst of meeting a new tune, it’s too easy for me to forget about time working its magic.

      Like

    1. They seem to be critical requirements for any creative endeavor. Along with chocolate, of course. Janet Hince

      jfhince@carolina.rr.com My blogs: hearttoharp.wordpress.com storiesmightbetrue.wordpress.com

      The easiest way to do art is to dispense with success and failure altogether and just get on with it. Stephen Nachmanovitch, Free Play

      Like

Comments are closed.