“The Art of Practice” on Performance Today

Ever wonder how professional musician practice? Ever wonder about what they do in the practice room that makes them so incredibly good?

Performance Today’s host Fred Child is interviewing musicians about how they practice, and airing these interviews on the Tuesday show. You can also listen to the interviews on the Performance Today website. Just look for the Special Features section – you’ll see “The Art of Practice” underneath, with artists’ names that link to the interviews.

Hearing the two interviews listed so far made me feel a whole lot better about my practice habits. I’ve never, ever thought of practicing my harp while watching golf on television!

4 thoughts on ““The Art of Practice” on Performance Today

  1. Hi Janet, I really appreciate your thoughts on starting to learn to play the harp. I’ve just started at 56, and find what you say very much in tune with my experience, its nice to have someone describe in detail what it actually feels like to try to play and practice. Even though my progress with technique seems slow, I love to spend the time practicing. The reason is that I love the sound of the harp, the sound is very enjoyable in itself regardless of what I play, including the arpeggios. I tried playing a piece I’ve learnt for harp on an upright piano and find the sound of a piano muffled and dull compared to the sharp, lively sound of the harp.

    Like

    1. I agree, David – I don’t know if I could have kept at it when I first began, if the sound and feeling of playing the harp weren’t so wonderful. It’s taken me most of seven years of lessons and practice to be a peace with the fact that it just takes as long as it takes for me to learn something, be it a new technique, a new tune, a new music theory concept, whatever. A dear friend recently reminded me of my beginnings – playing “Twinkle, Twinkle,” on my little green Sharpsicle – and how far I’ve come, just by showing up at my harp every day, and plugging away at whatever my next learning challenge might be. Progress occurs, even when we can’t yet see it. Thanks for reading and commenting on my blog. I’m glad that my harp experiences are being helpful.

      Like

  2. I am 50 years learning to play the harp with no music backgroud. Love your blog!!!! I feel like I found someone that I can relate to with my journey on the harp. I have read all your archives, this is the best bit of info by far!!! Can’t wait to read more about your harp experiences and things you learn about being a better harp player.

    Like

    1. Wow!!! Thanks, Tracey! This harp thing is indeed quite a journey – I always like hearing from someone else on the ride. And I’m thrilled that you are enjoying my blog. Thanks for leaving me a comment. Janet

      Like

Comments are closed.