Is melody enough?

I’ve been fortunate over the last 5 or so years to be able take harp workshops from some outstanding Irish harpers: Janet Harbison, Maire NiChathassigh, Grainne Hambly, Marta Cook. And they all say that with Irish music, melody takes precedence over accompaniment, over ornaments, over arrangements. It’s a concept that I liked hearing, given that doing anything complicated in my left hand while trying to play melody in my right typically leads to pretzel fingers and little music being made. My arrangements are very simple, because that’s what I can play.

Of course, then these wonderful harpers play totally drop-dead-gorgeous arrangements of traditional Irish tunes, with ornaments and chord progressions and bass riffs and other complexities that make the tunes beautiful and completely out of my reach. When they play, these tunes are way more than melody. So I didn’t really understand what they were trying to impart until listening to a guitar CD I picked up in Ireland last summer.

The CD is titled simply, Celtic Guitar, by Fergal Scahill. On the majority of tunes it’s solo guitar, playing unadorned melody. No finger picking, no chords, no fancy rhythm change-ups. Just melody, played exquisitly, piercing and lovely. Bare bones traditional tunes, played with exquisite tone and caring.

And I know that my harp is just as lovely when played as simply as this solo guitar. If I play a tune with the same careful attention to tone and timing, with the same caring for the tune that shines through on this CD; if I play believing that there is not anything missing, that melody is indeed enough, I have to believe that no one else would think that there was anything missing, either. A most excellent lesson.

2 thoughts on “Is melody enough?

  1. Less is best – that phrase is becoming my motto, both in singing and harp playing. With traditional music – that was originally monophonic anyway, we should let the tune have its way. Not worrying about whether other people will notice the cool things we can do with the accompaniment. Generally they’d rather listen to the music and wonder at my technical prowess.

    Like

    1. I like your motto. And with “less is best” I don’t have to be concerned about trying to do cool things with an acccompaniment, which will only stress me out and take away the joy of making music. Thanks for your comment.
      Janet

      Like

Comments are closed.